Thanks

It has been an exceedingly awful fall for me, but I have also been enjoying many blessings. Here are a few things I’m thankful for this holiday season.

1. My family has been an incredible blessing during this hard time. They have let me be exactly where I am at any given moment and given me love, laughter, and support, and I’m so grateful to have them.

2. My move to the new house happened pretty quickly, and my friends were extremely helpful. Frank, Beth, and Barry helped me paint the new rooms, Rebecca packed up my kitchen, Dad and the guys moved all the furniture down the stairs, Jason played expert Tetris with my belongings and his truck bed, and we got it all done in just a few hours. I was excited to move, but it was emotionally hard, and it was so assuring to look in the rear-view mirror and see a 6-car caravan behind me.

3. New Roommate is just wonderful, and I’m so enjoying living with her! I’ve never lived with someone I was friends with first. Several who became friends, yes, but never someone I got along with so well right off the bat. While cleaning for Thanksgiving, I found some old photos of us being twirled about in silly matching dresses in high school show choir, and I put them up on the fridge. We haven’t kept up closely since then, but we shared some wonderful times back in the day, we’ve already had some new wonderful times, and I’m looking forward to many more in our peaceful, happy new home.

4. Jamie and I have become professional concert-goers! Most recently, we went to see the Greencards at Poor David’s Pub, and they were great! Nights full of music do wonders for the heart!

5. I still have stacks of boxes and an unpainted house because I’ve been out pretty much every night having fun, seeing my friends, going to movies, restaurants, musicals, concerts, festivals, birthday parties, and cooking. I do need to eventually buckle down and find the box with my belts and other assorted necessities and set up my office, but for now, I’m having a total blast!

Frank and I had Texas Monthly’s #1 burger in Texas at the Grape.

The wardrobe girl totally misspelled her name, but whatever.

Trinity River Folk @ Cliff Fest

El Gato on Halloween

That’s Broadway star Norm Lewis up top as Sweeney Todd, and Sarah is in one of those dresses there. I also saw Jewel at Bass Hall recently, but I couldn’t take a picture of that. She’s wonderful! And she yodeled as an encore!

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

