Cooking Show Pilot!

So I’m a total Food Network dork – it’s one of the only things I watch. So when I got an chance to work as an unpaid intern/PA on a cooking show pilot this week, I JUMPED at the chance. I’ve always wanted to work on a food shoot, and I convinced the boss to let me take the day off to do this.Ā  There was an actual Food Network producer/host there directing (!), although right now it’s only a pilot that will hopefully get picked up. It’s a good concept (manly food for bachelors who don’t know how to cook but want to eat well, with a sporty slant), so we’ll see where it goes, if anywhere. I ended up being the head PA and script supervisor (since I was the only “intern” over 23), so I spent most of my time at the little video village with the director (Food Network dude!). It was a monster day at 16 hours, and it was unpaid, but I had a total blast, and I’m so very thankful to have had the opportunity. Here are some photos from the set. We shot at a Sam’s Club and the host’s place near the Dallas Farmer’s Market.

IMG_1897

IMG_1898

IMG_1902

IMG_1906

IMG_1910

The food part was fascinating – all the cooking time issues, the continuity of how food was laid out on a sheet, the measurements and ingredient prep, the taste and texture descriptions…I’m a total food dork, and I just soaked it all up! šŸ™‚ We shot in an area with a metal table/prep area right next to the kitchen. Former NHL hockey player Brent Severyn was the co-host/guest, and he was great on camera. Very personable, and a nice guy.

IMG_1907

IMG_1914

Yeah, and the food was AWESOME. DC, our host, actually cooked for the crew what he made on screen, which was beef tenderloin with a cajun rub, butter potatoes, and broccoli salad. This dude can COOK. It looks so plain, but my goodness, it was seriously awesome. Oh, and there was Mama’s Banana Pudding, but we didn’t get to eat that.

IMG_1917

IMG_1918

IMG_1922

IMG_1921

IMG_1920

It was an awesome, awesome day. I had a great time and met some fun new folks. For the last shot, DC strained spaghetti through a tennis racket, a bachelor trick. After a 16-hour day at 11:00 p.m., it was hilarious. I hope Food Network picks it up – I’d love to put them on my client list!

4 Responses

  1. That is so cool, Janie! You are going to be famous for shooting people one day! In a fabulous way, of course.

  2. i love the third pic, with the dude CLEARLY dozing off in his seat.

  3. @nikki: maybe filming would be a less problematic word choice. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

