Top 5 Fabulous Things of the Week 2.27.09

1. I went to see Branford Marsalis perform with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra last week, and I took Sarah along. I asked for symphony tickets for Christmas from my parents, and this was my first ticket redemption. It was great! He played the first two pieces with them, and the third piece was just the orchestra. He’s got nimble fingers! I was a music minor in college, so it was nice to take a couple of hours out and just listen, which I don’t do often enough.

2. I didn’t get to watch the Oscars due to a satellite mishap, but I read some quotes from that night that I thought were great. I don’t normally watch the Oscars, but I love movies, and I love quotes, and some really great ones tend to happen at this ceremony.

“All my life I’ve had a choice between hate and love, and I chose love, and now I’m here.” – A.R. Rahman, scorer for Slumdog Millionaire

“I think [Milk] would want me to say to all the gay and lesbian kids out there tonight who have been told that they are less than by their churches, by the government, or by their families, that you are beautiful, wonderful creatures of value, and that no matter what anyone tells you, God does love you and that very soon, I promise you, you will have equal rights, federally, across this great nation of ours.” – Dustin Lance Black, accepting his award for Best Screenplay for Milk

3. I just love Facebook. I’ve gotten to reconnect with so many people from different seasons of my life recently, and I’m getting to know a new group of people I met recently. It’s such a wonderful tool. My mother thinks it’s a waste of time, but in my opinion, it’s all about building and maintaining relationships. Who needs a Christmas letter when you’ve got Facebook??

4. I went out to Beth and Deanna’s community garden to see what theirs is like, and it was fun. I saw several different kinds of plots, different ways of laying things out, and vegetables I didn’t know existed. Have you ever heard of a black radish?

5. “He turns my tickle box over.” – Paula Deen, about how her husband makes her laugh

Hope you’re having a good week!

One Response

  1. Hi Beautiful! The quote you attributed to Sean Penn was not said by him. It came from the guy who won best screenplay for Milk. I actually watched the Oscars this year since Chris was in Anchorage, and that particular acceptance speech made me tear up. It was so heartfelt and was so full of love…it just made me ache inside.

Leave a Reply

