Thankful:)

Things I am currently thankful for:

1. A grandfatherly firefighter I worked with a couple of times in Nevada called to check on me yesterday, to see how I was post-job-collapse and see how my Thanksgiving was going. He said, among other things, that they had been having an unusual rash of suicides in the county since October, and although he didn’t say it, I’m sure he just wanted to check on me to make sure I was doing alright after recent events. I thought that was so sweet. I told him how soft my landing had been after the company closed, with finding great work so quickly, and he said that in the People’s Republic of Berkeley, where he grew up, that was called karma, and that I deserved it for what I had been doing for the fire service. It was an out-of-the-blue phone call, and one I am thankful for.

2. I’m going to see my grandmother in Harlingen this week. I love my Arlington grandmother, who we have always spent Thanksgiving with, but the last couple of years we’ve gone to Harlingen instead, and I have to say that I’m glad for the change. I get to see MiMi all the time, but I only get to see Grandma a couple of times a year. She has been forgetting a lot lately, and that is going to be hard to be around, but I’m glad to get to spend some time listening to her stories. The ones she can remember, anyway;)

3. We had an early Thanksgiving at my parents’ house on Sunday, because in Harlingen, we will be patronizing Luby’s. I got to see my aunt, uncle and cousins, who I really wish I saw more often. It’s so interesting to see my genetics at work in another nuclear family.

4. Hearing the words “President-elect Obama” and “the Obama administration” peppering conversations these days is so fabulous. I have absolute faith in no politician, but I have much more peace these days knowing someone will at least be trying to help clean up our air and food supply and inspiring others to do the same.

5. Handy sewing-machine-wielding friends who fix my broken stuff.

6. I went to the Prop 8 protest with Beth and Deanna last weekend (pictures on that to come), and it was nice to be around intelligent, passionate people making their voices heard for something they believe in. I went, above all, because it was a peaceful protest, not done out of anger but to simply make those in power – and those in the communities around them – aware of the displeasure over the outcome of and scare/purposeful-misinformation tactics used during California’s recent election. It was an honor to be among them for a little while. I see people in other countries with views that differ from the ruling party suppressed forcefully by those in power, and it was lovely to see people able to speak their mind in a peaceful way. I even thought the counter-protest was great, in the sense that they were able to speak their mind as well, even if I don’t agree with them. And the Dallas police stood surrounding us, not as a threat, they said, but to protect and stand with us. I think that’s just great.

7. You. Happy Thanksgiving!

4 Responses

  1. yay for sewing machines & peaceful protests!

    btw, your bags are ready whenever you want to come over. 🙂

  2. thank you for being you!

  3. Wow, I miss you. Reading through your blog just reminded me of how amazing you are. I don’t miss Texas, but I do miss a few of the people I love.

Leave a Reply

